Cleaning…ugh!

Poppies with porcelain urn   Cleaning is not my idea of fun. I love the result, but the process…well, that’s another story.

While cleaning our house the other day in preparation for our coming guests, I started my usual mental whining and grumbling.

As I dusted the frame of a beautiful watercolor—red poppies in a gray porcelain urn with an Asian lady in the foreground—I paused to think about the artist. My husband’s aunt, a professional artist, painted this picture. As I stood admiring her talent, memories of visiting her studio, visits with family members, our children as toddlers, and houses where family dinners occurred came to mind.

Orange poppiesNot wanting to leave these precious moments, I dusted the next frame, a watercolor she created in art school. The orange hibiscuses that make you think you can almost smell them.

Suddenly, cleaning took on a whole new perspective. This perspective that was not only fun, but also heart warming. Memories, that had long since been tucked away, were resurrected. I continued cleaning throughout the house listening to the stories from each treasure that I dusted.

Yesterday can be heart warming, funny, and sometimes painful. Yesterday can come from personal experience as a memory. Yesterday can come from history as stories from the Bible. No matter yesterday’s source, forever is the gift we receive.

3 thoughts on “Cleaning…ugh!

  1. dotlatjohn September 18, 2015 / 2:59 pm

    What a nice reminder that we can change a dreaded task to something enjoyable just by adjusting our thoughts. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Melanie Carr September 20, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    Very encouraging and refreshing post – nice reminder to let our perspectives shift and find joy in everyday tasks. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Doris Keen September 22, 2015 / 1:03 am

    I rush through cleaning & very seldom think about what I am dusting, but I will now!!! Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

