More Valuable Than Big Red

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?                                 Matthew 6:26-27

Cardinals-in-snowI love cardinals! Now that the cold evenings are here, I noticed the cardinals are making preparations to withstand the chill. Every night about 5:30, a female cardinal flies to the ceiling of our backyard patio and settles on top of one of the now still outdoor fan blades. She waits.

About ten minutes later, Big Red (as we affectionately named him), flies onto the patio. Dressed in his brilliant red robe with an orange beak, Big Red’s head feathers stand erect. He is a beauty. He perches on the back of a patio chair, looks around, and then flies to the fan. Little Red (as we aptly named his wife) retreats to the nearby holly bushes and does not return. Big Red hops from blade to blade and finally rests where Little Red was sitting. Big Red stays on top of the fan all night.

At almost 5:30 the next morning, Big Red begins a loud, beautiful serenade. I believe it is not only a call to his wife, but more than that, a song of praise to his Creator.

“I’m worried about Big Red. He sits in the pouring rain, cold, and snow. What if he doesn’t survive the winter?” I asked my husband.

My husband replied, “When God created birds, He equipped them to withstand the cold and bad weather. They know to trust Him because He promises to take care of them.”

My heart was quickened as I thought how in God’s great wisdom, He created these beautiful birds. He equipped them for their environment. They need nothing because He provides for them. In Matthew, God says he will take care of the birds. He also tell us not to worry because He cares for us even more.

Tears filled my eyes as I realized that my fears and worries had momentarily overtaken my faith and trust in my heavenly Father. He holds me in His arms every day. Big Red is my reminder of the precious gift of God’s love for me.

But, my heavenly Father not only takes care of my physical needs, He also tends to me spiritually. He sent His only Son, Jesus, to provide a way to share eternity with Him. Now that’s value! That’s love!

Yesterday’s provision for a forever life.

8 thoughts on “More Valuable Than Big Red

  1. Doris Keen November 2, 2015 / 3:37 pm

    Do you put out feed for your birds? We use to have several Cardinals flying around but last winter we only saw them (I think twice). I hope they come back this year. You made my day with this article!!!

    Like

    • Cindy Hansberry November 2, 2015 / 3:52 pm

      No, we don’t put feed out because of the mice and other critters that become a nuisance. We do love when the bright red cardinals rest on the dark green holly bushes!

      Like

  2. juliemahan November 12, 2015 / 11:39 am

    I enjoyed reading from another writer’s patio “experiences”. The Lord truly blesses us, with our little feathered friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cindy Hansberry November 12, 2015 / 3:35 pm

      Julie, I like how you phrased that: “patio experiences.” Agree with you too!

      Like

  3. diningwithdebbie November 13, 2015 / 5:20 pm

    God teaches us so much through our little nature observances, doesn’t he? Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

