Are You Fighting the Fog?

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.  Proverbs 3:5-6 (KJV)

Arkansas River at Two Rivers       I love water! Swimming, boating, hoses, oceans, rivers… if water is involved, count me in!

I enjoy visiting the park next to the Arkansas River. This provides the perfect vantage point to watch the water rush over the dam as it travels east toward the Mississippi River. The water glistens from the reflected sunlight. On the opposite side of the river from me, the deer cautiously sip water at the edge of the river. In the coves of water off the main stream, the cranes wade in looking for their next meal. This serenity that soothes my soul is a God-thing.

In the fall, the river’s warm waters collide with the cooler land air. The result is a thick, cotton-like curtain of fog. Traffic on the bridges is almost at a standstill as each driver’s vision is significantly limited.

Despite the fog-enveloped river, I recently parked my car at the park to visit with God. While I couldn’t see the river, I knew from experience that it was only a few feet in front of me. Not actually seeing the river didn’t change reality. I brought my Bible and a heart full of questions about some decisions that needed to be made. The fear and worry regarding these impending challenges overshadowed my joy. Inside, my warm joy collided with the cold angst of fear and worry. Thick fog rolled into my soul, and my spiritual vision was diminished.

I read the Word which provided a quietness and focus on Him. Then, looking first into the river’s fog, I closed my eyes and prayed for help, wisdom, and direction. You see, my previously fogged vision was formed by a need to understand without trusting and leaning on Him. My fog did not blind God. He maintained perfect clarity all along.

God gave me a peace that assured me He would provide crystal clear answers in His timing. With renewed joy, trust, and clarity, I was ready to face my day. Finishing my prayer, I opened my eyes to an amazing sight: the river’s fog had vanished.  Before me was a clear vision of the beautiful Arkansas River.

Trust in and lean on the Lord Who brings forever clarity to yesterday’s fog.

6 thoughts on “Are You Fighting the Fog?

  1. Ralph Keen December 15, 2015 / 8:01 am

    Fog is not so bad,it was the mist of the garden of Eden and watered it well. Sometimes the “fog” of a day slows us down to rest and wait for God to water us.

    Like

  2. Dorothy Hill December 15, 2015 / 11:45 am

    LOVE this post! Isn’t it just like God to give us opportunities to trust Him and then He graciously provides us with object lessons that wow us! Praising god with you and sharing your post. hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hpdwales December 15, 2015 / 11:59 am

    Great post, thank you for the reminder that God has it all under control.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dorothy Johnson December 15, 2015 / 3:45 pm

    Such a good post. The fog on the river is amazing some mornings. I love your spiritual application.

    Like

  5. juliemahan January 8, 2016 / 8:24 pm

    Being in nature surrounded by it’s mystery truly brings us closer to God . This line you wrote spoke to me; My fog did not blind God. He maintained perfect clarity all along.
    Our Lord is steadfast and sure! Enjoying power reading your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

